If you want to talk... we're here to listen.

Angela Maes

LMSW ‐ Therapist

Angela Maes (Licensed Master’s Social Work, Licensed Substance Alcohol Associate) (Currently working towards independent licensure: L.C.S.W.) I have lived in the Southwest (New Mexico) for the majority of my life, and consider myself a local. I love living in a state that has so much cultural diversity, and a state that offers so much wide open space to do outdoor activities. I have been married twenty three years, and have two adult children that truly are my pride and joy. The eldest is in medical school, and the youngest serving in the United States Army. I have worked in the field of Social work for about eight years, but have other job related experiences that adds up to a total of about eighteen years. The combined experiences includes working for the schools as an Instructional Assistant, Title I Assistant, to working as a Special Education Assistant, the most recent was working for two elementary schools as a School Social Worker. I have also worked as a Victim Advocate I several years ago. I began my career once I received my license in Master’s in Social Work from the University of Denver in May of 2016, through the Graduate School of Social Work in Durango, Colorado. I was in the advanced standing program. I began doing clinical Social Work (mental health/behavioral health)/therapy for Desert View Family Counseling shortly after graduating in June of 2016. The various age ranges I seen varied from: early childhood (youngest was a three year old) through elderly clients. The ethnicities reflect much of the Southwest’s demographics’. I have experience working with people with severe mental illness, to client’s with depression and anxiety concerns, client’s with an Autism Spectrum Disorder, self-esteem concerns, and client’s that struggle with addictions/co-occurring concerns. In my undergraduate years, through New Mexico Highland’s University I interned at Four Winds Recovery Treatment Center. At this treatment facility, I worked with adults that were struggling with substance abuse concerns, while being directly supervised by a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. Most of the client’s at Four Winds not only had concerns of Substance Abuse, but the majority of them struggled with co-occurring disorders as well. I helped co-facilitate groups, taught Prevention and Recovery Topic’s on family Day, and interacted with the client’s individually with supervision. Many years back I also worked at Four Winds Recovery Treatment Center, on the Detox Side (when it was in existence), and worked as a Detox Counselor’s Aide. Working with people that struggle with addictions is something that is near, and dear to my heart. As I have been surrounded by loved one’s that have struggled with addictions of all sorts. One family member in particular, was able to stay in recovery for several years and transformed his life around in a drastically/positive manner, and this is what peaked my interest into learning about addiction, and seeing how really we all struggle with some sort of addiction in one way or another. I have facilitated groups while working as a therapist at Desert View Family Counseling. The two groups that I lead while alternating with another therapist were: Anger Management, and Substance Abuse Therapy Group. The Modalities that were used in group, and that are used in individual therapy sessions that I currently do are (Evidence Based Practices): Brief Solution Focused, Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Strengths Based (client-centered), Narrative Interviewing (culturally sensitive), and Motivational Interviewing. More often times, I will use a combination, but will explain the modalities, and would appreciate your input into what you think will be most beneficial for you. Rapport is everything, in therapy and I always welcome you to please let me know if something is not working for you so we can make adjustments. You are the expert on yourself, and I will support that. As a therapist my job is to support, guide, give you tools/strategies that can best help you in your decision making process. I will completely support your right to autonomy, to listen without judgment, and to listen to show you un-conditional positive regard. When away from my work the things I most enjoy are the following: interior decorating, hiking, physical activities (all sorts), watching movies, watching performance arts (of just about any), love listening to music, love refurbishing furniture, learning to crochet (still), horseback riding, reading, attending church, spending time with family. I genuinely love learning, and truly believe in challenging myself, just as much as I will try and challenge you to grow more. I am very reflective and introspective and believe wholeheartedly in gratitude and try hard to notice all the little things to be appreciative of, as that keeps me more positive. I am very much faith based individual, but am respectful of others, that might share a different belief system than me. I try to be an open minded person, and try to enjoy family and friends as much as I can!